Final Reflection

I honestly looked forward to Wednesdays a lot this semester. CPD2 has been nothing but amazing. Even though there were a lot of things to do such as the online posts, video and essays, I enjoyed the learning journey very much. Brad made the classes interesting by incorporating many class activities in all his lessons.

One of the key take-aways I have is in writing a formal email. I found out many dos and dont’s in writing an formal email. Minor things like punctuation, sentence structure and even addressing someone the proper way were being looked into and dealt with.

Secondly, the instructional units provided me with so much insights about communication. One of the most important that I felt is lacking in me, is the ability to handle conflict. I am confrontational and usually speak my mind off without taking much into consideration. However, I often find myself in regrets after doing so. The Thomas Kilmann Conflict Mode Instrument (complete, collaborate, avoid, compromise and accommodate ) helped me to identify the best way to deal with conflicts in different situations with different people.

I always find myself in situations where people often tend to misunderstand or fail to understand what I have said. From the 7 Cs in communication, I found out that I often lacked in areas such as being, clear, concise and complete. With this in mind, I am learning how to improve my communication skills so that I can be a better communicator.

I thoroughly enjoy this module and it has definitely helped me in becoming a better communicator. More importantly, it stimulated my interest in communication propelling me as I strive to do better in this area of my life!

Thank you Brad, it was an amazing journey with your guidance:)

 

Michelle

 

 

One thought on “Final Reflection

  1. Dear Michelle,

    Thank you for this detailed, heartfelt reflection on the CPDII module. I’m glad you found so much of it to be useful and that overall the tasks and activities proved to be a good learning experience for you. It also warms my heart, in particular, that the focus on conflict management was something you felt helpful.

    I do hope you can transfer some of the skills and know-how learned or polished in CPDII to your future study and work.

    Finally, I have appreciated your many contributions during the term, Michelle. It was always good to meet you in class since you brought such a bright smile and positive, constructive energy.

    All the best as you continue your learning journey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

